New Year’s Resolutions and New Year’s Knitting

My husband  in my final holiday gift, Mona socks by Cookie A in madelinetosh merino

My husband in my final holiday gift, Mona socks by Cookie A in madelinetosh merino

Now that I am finally done my holiday gifts, my mind has turned to the new year and new projects. As I set my intentions for 2013, one word came to mind: flexibility.   Physical flexibility to help my tattered knees through a new year of travel and adventure, but much more importantly mental and emotional flexibility to help me become a better parent, spouse, friend and family member.  This year, we hope to take our son on his first major trip (possibly to Iceland?) and I have a feeling that crossing the Atlantic (or part of it) with a toddler will tax my exisiting flexibility.

One of the traits I most admire in my husband, is his ability to abandon the long list of to dos and be in the moment with our son.  Maintaining a household with two working parents and one tiny person requires a lot of scheduling and managing, but in 2013, I resolve not to let the schedules and tasks prevent me from being present.  I resolve to let the little things slide, so that I have the energy and strength to do what’s most important.  Basically, I resolve to be more flexible.

Work begins on my legwarmers, yarn,  Cables, Diamonds, Herringbone and a tricksy knitter pattern making book that my sister gave me for Christmas

Work begins on my legwarmers: yarn, Cables, Diamonds, Herringbone and a tricksy knitter pattern making book that my sister gave me for Christmas

I’ve taken this resolution to the yoga mat with me a lot this week, and that’s inspired my first project of 2013: leg warmers to make the trudge through the snow to the studio a little easier.  Legwarmers require minimal shaping, so they’re a great place to play with texture.  My parents bought me Cables, Diamonds and Herringbone for Christmas, and I’m experimenting with the lovely fisherman’s sweater textures to make my legwarmers in Cascade Superwash paints.  I can’t wait to get these finished and on my legs.  When I do, I’ll share pictures, and the pattern.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions and New Year’s Knitting

  1. Katie

    Hey Lisa! It’s Katie. Tom just mentioned that you had started a blog, so I wanted to check it out. I love the way that you are connecting knitting and travel, and keeping it entertaining. Having taken a few English classes with you I’m not surprised at all that your blog is such a pleasure to read.

    Good luck with a flexible 2013. Hopefully we’ll see you soon!

    Reply
  2. Katie

    I miss travelling like it’s nobody’s business. Unfortunately I don’t think we can head to Iceland this year. Maybe a Canadian road trip in the summer?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

