I think I found the best use EVER for leftover sock yarn!

My hexipuffs (or 1.3% of a quilt)

My hexipuffs (or 1.3% of a quilt)

I’ve struggled with what to do with all my leftover sock yarn.  Each pair of socks results in smallish balls of lovely scrap, and it didn’t take long for me to develop a pretty major stash.  I’ve made newborn hats and contemplated wild striped socks, but I’ve never found a really satisfying use for these leftovers.  To add to the urgency, we’re looking for a house, and the upcoming move has motivated me to deal with every bit of clutter that I will otherwise have to eventually pack up and move.

Tiny Owl's beekeeper's quilt (photo copied from the pattern website)

Tiny Owl’s beekeeper’s quilt (photo copied from the pattern website)

So imagine my delight when I came upon this gorgeous Tiny Owl Knits pattern, The Beekeeper’s Quilt.  It’s a pretty popular pattern with over 5000 projects on ravelry, and at least 5 how-to videos on youtube.

The pattern reccommends 384 of these tiny little “hexipuffs” for a full size quilt, so I may be working on this one for the forseeable future. However, each little puff knits up in less than an hour, so they’re perfect in between projects.  So far I have 5 puffs (or 1.3% of a full size blanket!), but I’ll keep you posted as I work my way through my stash. I’ve made

A hexipuff in madelinetosh merino

A hexipuff in madelinetosh merino

hexipuffs with ONline suppersocke (from my Wedge socks), white Dream in Colour Starry, and pink and black madelinetosh merino (from my Hederas, and the Monas I made for my husband at Christmas), and they all look lovely. I’m so happy to be converting clutter into something beautiful for our new home, what a great pattern!


11 thoughts on “I think I found the best use EVER for leftover sock yarn!

  1. anastasiamw

    Oh my gosh, I love hexipuffs! I don’t have near as many as I want, but I’m hoping to get back into them as I bought a ton of mini-skeins from MadTosh in Fort Worth. They’re so much fun! I can’t wait to see how your blanket comes out!

    Reply
  2. jessapoulin

    A friend of mine is also working on her hexipuffs quilt; I think it’s been around 2-3 years now, but she ONLY uses scraps, and is really happy in the leisurely pace that it’s taking. 🙂

    Reply
    1. lisagono Post author

      I realized last night that since each pair of socks leaves about 6 or 7 hexipuffs worth of yarn, that’s 50 pairs of socks!! So mine will either be 4 or 5 years in the making, or I’ll have to buy some yarn specifically for it… either way, I’m pretty happy!

      Reply
    1. lisagono Post author

      Thanks for the compliments!! That button quilt is soooo cute (and very similar). Years and years from now, when I finish this one, I’ll have to start that one to use my sock scraps (because I don’t have enough ambitious projects in mind 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

