Hexipuff Update (or all the spectacular uses for hexi-puffs)

My hexipuffs

My hexipuffs

39 hexipuffs

39 hexipuffs

I’m 10% of the way through my beekeeper’s quilt, and 100% addicted to these satisfying little puffs.  This week, I finished my 39th puff, which I see as something as of a milestone (384 puffs make a full size quilt).  So far, my goal is to complete a double bed size quilt in a random selection of colours. These hexipuffs were made out of eight different balls of scrap sock yarn (Studioloo Bootsie, Dream in Color Smooshy and Starry, ONline Supersocke, madelinetosh merino light, and Cascade 220 Superwash Sport). I’m hesitant to start attaching anything, since I’d like the colours and colourways to be evenly distributed in the quilt.  It is interesting to note that there are way more in progress quilts on ravelry: 3833 in progress compared to 741 finished quilts. I suspect that we’ll all be at this for a while!

A hexipuff headboard, originally spotted on Pinterest

A hexipuff headboard, originally spotted on Pinterest

Rosalias' HexiChristmas (taken from ravelry)

Rosalias’ HexiChristmas (taken from ravelry)

Along the way, I also discovered some of the other spectacular and creative uses for hexipuffs, like this much-shared wall hanging/head board which, I believe is suspended using hooks from anthropologie.  I’m considering it as a temporary home for some of my finished puffs. One commenter on knit the hell out suggested using them as cushions for dinner chairs (a great idea, but I’m not sure I could watch my toddler eat pasta that close to hours and hours of knitting). Another brilliant blogger made an entire Christmas tree out of hexipuffs.

My ravelry and pinterest searches revealed hexipuffs used as Christmas ornaments, key chains, upholstery, baby toys and blankets, and my absolute favourite: a cozy cat bed!

A hexipuff pet carrier by catlips (taken from ravelry)

A hexipuff pet carrier by catlips (taken from ravelry)

14 thoughts on “Hexipuff Update (or all the spectacular uses for hexi-puffs)

    1. lisagono Post author

      I think you could. This blanket is a bit of an exception to the boredom rule, since it’s made in such tiny little satisfying pieces. I just pick them up when I’m frustrated with a project, and I have a little bag in the car for those cross-city drives. I’ve also started embellishing every 10th one, so they’re a fun/low commitment place to experiment with color and texture.

      Reply
      1. monsteryarns

        Thanks. I love how pretty it looks. And there is always yarn to knit with – just worried I’ll give up on it. Looking on the bright side, I may then just use them for a cushion.
        That’s decided – it’s on the WIP list!

    2. smudge2012

      absolutely! the puffs are so quick & satisfying, then you get to race through your next yarn crush & onto another and the whole project builds up while you indulge your micro needs 🙂 plus you can knit them up while reading, talking to a friend, watching children or listening to the radio … ( http://www.abc.net.au/radionational) or a audiobook…..

      Reply
  1. lazersheep

    Love them! I keep seeing more and more people picking up this project, and I’m totally tempted. I think it would make a great play mat for my little girl. I’m also pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to finish it before she’s up and running around though haha. Your’s are beautiful! Keep it up! I especially love the one with the tiny cable on it ❤

    Reply
    1. lisagono Post author

      Thanks for the compliment! It definitely seems pretty popular – I’ve noticed it on a number of different blogs… It’s such a short time that they’re crawling around on a playmat, but on the other hand it’s pretty flexible – a hexipuff play mat could be added on to to make a toddler bed quilt and then a cover for a full size bed!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

