My Overby Sweater (or Why I Despise Seams)

_AWN4131My Overby sweater is done, and I sort of like it.  I rarely make sweaters for myself, because I’m almost pathologically picky about fit and I find wool really itchy (I know, it’s a strange confession for a knitter!).  However, when I saw this pattern, and the new cotton tape yarn it was designed for, I was completely seduced.  I love cotton sweaters, and the fit, texture and stretch of this sweater make fit less of an issue.

My Overby sweater, knit in Berroco Karma, in the spring sunshine

My Overby sweater, knit in Berroco Karma, in the spring sunshine

That said, I have mixed feelings about the results.  I still love, love, love the texture and silhouette. The actual knitting was as quick and easy as can be, but the yarn presented a few unique challenges.  Berocco Karma is a new yarn, with only 48 ravelry projects, so getting tips and help online wasn’t easy.  It’s a loosely woven cotton tape, making weaving in ends nearly impossible to do to my satisfaction.  On the advice of my LYS, I ended up attaching balls of yarn by sewing the two ends together with a few stitches in matching thread.  That didn’t solve to problem of the ends, and there are a couple places where they have worked their way to the surface.

I hate, hate, hate seaming, and this sweater is constructed in 4 flat pieces (the absolute worst method of construction if you ask me). This turned out to be the biggest hurdle and source of dissatisfaction with this sweater.  My inexperience with set-in shoulders made me reluctant to start messing with the pattern, and now I really regret it.  I should have knit as much as possible in the round, or even better used Ann Budd’s Knitter’s Handy Book of Top Down Sweaters to rewrite the pattern as seamless.

I started blogging, in part, to elevate my knitting skills and push myself to try new things, so I was determined to master seaming and finishing.  I scoured youtube, and watched Berroco’s own excellent videos.  It was a little too late; they recommended decreasing for the sleeve cap one or two stitches in for the sleeve cap to give yourself a firmer edge to sew into (thanks, guys, but next time put that in the pattern!).

A work in progress, sew in the sleeves

A work in progress, sew in the sleeves

I waited until my son was asleep and my husband was safely ensconced in the NHL playoffs to attack.  I laid everything out after diligently blocking. However, even with all that care, the seams do not meet my standards.  I hate wearing anything that looks amateurish, and these seams seem to have conspired against me.  The loose stitches make every misstep glaring, and somehow, I sewed one armpit slightly tighter than the other (not really visible, but still).

All that said, I loved this yarn, and the way it feels, I can’t wait to find another really great (seamless) sweater pattern for it. Please, share if you have any ideas!

11 thoughts on “My Overby Sweater (or Why I Despise Seams)

  1. knittingsarah

    Have you ever considered taking a finishing class? I’ve learned most of my skills independently, but the second (and last) class I took was how to seam, including set-in sleeves. If you have a good yarn shop with a good teacher, it is totally worth the investment to get a hands-on lesson in seaming. It can make a huge difference!

    Reply
    1. lisagono Post author

      That’s a great idea! I haven’t seen a finishing class offered at my LYS, but the teacher there is great and they offer “open” classes once every few months…maybe I should take in some sweater pieces to finish with her!

      Reply
      1. knittingsarah

        I have taught the last few years at my LYS & did private lessons on seaming bunches of times. It is not exactly intuitive so good basic instruction goes a long way! Well worth the time & money!

  2. 1marylou

    The cable and yarn over work looks fabulous. Sometimes, I find it easier to sew seams with a different yarn. Instead of seaming with the ribbon yarn, you may try a smooth worsted weight yarn which produces a “not so bulky” appearance.

    Reply
    1. lisagono Post author

      Thanks for the compliment – I was really happy with the front detail. A different yarn would have helped for sure… although I think the real problem was my lack of skill…

      Reply
      1. countingsheepstudio

        Thanks! It truly is a unique yarn, I’ve never used anything quite like it. One surprising thing for me is just how light it is! I’m sure you’ll get a lot of use out of your sweater!

Leave a Reply

