This year’s first Christmas present

Lots of blue: my blue lemonade cardigan, the picnic cedar table my dad made for us, and some flowers from my mother-in-laws garden

Lots of blue: my blue lemonade cardigan, the cedar picnic table my dad made for us, and some flowers from my in-laws garden

I know what you’re thinking, but after trying to finish 7 pairs of socks in as many weeks last year, I’ve decided to space this year’s presents out a little bit.  I just finished blocking this Vodka Lemonade cardigan in Cascade Ultra Pima for my mother-in-law.  She loves bright saturated colours, and spends her winters in Florida, so this light cotton cardie seemed like a great idea (hopefully she thinks so too!). I love Thea Coleman’s designs, this one has just enough lace to be unique, without sacrificing wearability.  So lovely!

The clever lace motif and seed stitch border at the bottom of the cardiga

The clever lace motif and seed stitch border at the bottom of the cardiga

While the fraught relationship between a woman and her partner’s mother has become a tired cliche, it definitely doesn’t apply here. I am lucky to have such a strong and caring woman in my family. I’ve been pretty blessed in the role model department, and she’s one that I’m grateful for everyday (and it’s not just for the free babysitting – I swear).

The pattern was a pleasure to knit, and the recipient a pleasure to knit for. I’ll make sure to include a picture of it on in my holiday round-up this winter.

 

6 thoughts on “This year’s first Christmas present

    1. lisagono Post author

      I love this yarn for the bright (and muted) colours! I used it for a couple of other summer projects (pink and green watermelon sweater & yellow and grey lattice top), but I’m a sucker for jewel tones!

      Reply
  1. Forest So Green

    Love the color and the lace motif. I am also a knitter. May I ask how did you make your header photo? Annie

    Reply
    1. lisagono Post author

      Thank you! My husband put my header together for me, since my photo-editting skills begin and end with iPhoto. He used Photoshop, and apparently it’s relatively easy to crop photos to the same size and make a composite of them like this. Making them equal sized squares, like I did, keeps the geometry simple.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

